If you are a real estate agent and you want to practice your profession in a particular state, it is needed that you should obtain first a real estate license before you are able to practice your profession.
One of the basic requirements of acquiring a real estate license is that you must be at least 18 years of age. Remember that each state have there own specific set of requirements.
For example in Texas real estate, it is required in there that you should take a 60 hours course on Principles of Real Estate.
Aside from this, it is required that you should take at least 30 hours on Texas real estate courses about the Law of Agency and Law of Contracts.
To know about these specifications, check with your local state office and ask how you can fulfill the requirements to obtain a real estate license.